American Australian Association (AAA)

In Conversation with Julia Gillard

Event Description

 

In celebration of International Women’s Day, please join the American Australian Association and G’Day USA in conversation with Julia Gillard, former Australian Prime Minister. Hosted by Donna Brazile, The Hon. Julia Gillard AC will discuss her experiences as a female leader, her new book, Women and Leadership, and what we can do to help forge a gender equal world.

 

USA: Wednesday, March 10 | 6pm EST, 3pm PST
AUS: Thursday, March 11 | 10am AEDT

 

Registration is essential. Questions may be submitted in advance.

 

 

SPEAKERS

 

Julia Gillard at Mt Lofty House.

 

The Hon Julia Gillard AC
Former Prime Minister of Australia

Julia Gillard is the only woman to have served as Prime Minister of Australia, a position she held from 2010 to 2013. Gillard was central to the successful management of Australia’s economy, the 12th biggest in the world, during the global financial crisis, and delivered nation-changing policies including reforming Australian education at every level and establishing the nation’s first ever national scheme to care for people with disabilities. In October 2012, Gillard received worldwide attention for her speech in parliament on the treatment of women in professional and public life. In April 2018, Gillard was appointed Chair of the Global Institute for Women’s Leadership at King’s College London.

 

 

 

 

 

Donna Brazile
Veteran Democratic Political Strategist

Fox News contributor and veteran political strategist Donna Brazile is the former interim Chair of the Democratic National Committee and became the first African American woman to serve as the manager of a major party presidential campaign, running the campaign of former Vice President Al Gore. She is the author of the 2004 best-selling memoir Cooking with Grease: Stirring the Pots in American Politics and the 2017 New York Times Bestseller Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-Ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump In The White House. She is a co-author of For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Politics, which won the 2019 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work, Nonfiction. Ms. Brazile is a contributor to the recently published 400 Souls: A Community History of African America, 1619-2019.

Brazile has lectured at over 225 colleges and universities across the country. In 2013, Ms. Brazile was appointed by President Obama to serve on the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. She is also the proud recipient of more than ten honorary doctorate degrees from major colleges and universities, including her alma mater Louisiana State University. In October 2017, Ms. Brazile was the recipient of the W.E.B Du Bois Medal, Harvard’s highest honor in African American studies. Brazile has served as an adjunct professor at Georgetown University since 2002 and spent the fall of 2017 serving as a Joan Shorenstein fellow in Media, Politics and Public Policy at the Harvard Kennedy School. She is currently the Gwendolyn S. and Colbert I. King Endowed Chair in Public Policy at Howard University.

When:

USA: Wednesday, March 10 | 6pm EST, 4pm PST
AUS: Thursday, March 11 | 10am AEDT

Where:

Zoom

Related Events